Workshop Chairs

Gianmarco De Francisci Morales
Scientist at QCRI
Doha, Qatar

Bio: Gianmarco is a Scientist at QCRI. Previously he worked as a Visiting Scientist at Aalto University in Helsinki, as a Research Scientist at Yahoo Labs in Barcelona, and as a Research Associate at ISTI- CNR in Pisa. He received his Ph.D. in Computer Science and Engineering from the IMT Institute for Advanced Studies of Lucca in 2012. His research focuses on scalable data mining, with an emphasis on Web mining and data- intensive scalable computing systems. He is an active member of the open source community of the Apache Software Foundation, working on the Hadoop ecosystem, and a committer for the Apache Pig project. He is one of the lead developers of Apache SAMOA, an open-source platform for mining big data streams. He commonly serves on the PC of several major conferences in the area of data mining, including WSDM, KDD, CIKM, and WWW. He co-organizes the workshop series on Social News on the Web (SNOW), co-located with the WWW conference.

Luca Maria Aiello
Research Scientist at Nokia Bell Labs
Cambridge, UK

Bio: Luca is a Senior Research Scientist in the Social Dynamics group at Bell Labs in Cambridge, UK. He received his PhD in Computer Science from the University of Torino in 2012 and he has been a Research Scientist at Yahoo Labs for 4.5 years. He conducts interdisciplinary research in network science, computational social science, and urban informatics. He co-authored 50+ peer-reviewed papers and his work has been covered by more than 200 news articles published by prestigious news outlets worldwide including Wired, Wall Street Journal, and BBC. He serves in the PCs of multiple conferences including WWW, WSDM, ICWSM, and CIKM. He was involved in the organization several academic events: organizer of the SNOW workshop at WWW for two years, workshop and tutorial chair for ICWSM in 2015-16, and general chair of SocInfo in 2014. He is also a co-organizer of the scientific dissemination meetup ”DataBeers” in London. He is among the founding members of, a global network of scientist with the goal of giving a good life to city dwellers.

Symeon Papadopoulos
Research Associate at CERTH-ITI
Thessaloniki, Greece

Bio: Symeon received his Electrical and Computer Engineering diploma in 2004 from the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (AUTH) and his Professional Doctorate in Engineering (P.D.Eng.) from the Technical University of Eindhoven, the Netherlands. Since September 2006, he has been working as a researcher with the In- formation Technologies Institute (ITI), part of the Centre for Research and Technology Hellas (CERTH), on a wide range of research areas such as information search and retrieval, social network analysis, data mining and web mul- timedia knowledge discovery. In 2012, he defended his Ph.D. thesis in the Informatics department of AUTH on the topic of large-scale knowledge discovery from social multimedia. He has co-organized a number of relevant work- shops (SNOW’14/’16, SoMuS’14, WeMuV’15), benchmarking activities (MediaEval SED2011-2014, VMU’15/’16) and Summer Schools (SSMS’12, ESSIR’15), and served as Guest Editor in IEEE Multimedia and ACM TOIS.

Haewoon KwakHaewoon
Scientist at QCRI
Doha, Qatar

Bio: Haewoon is a research scientist at QCRI with a background in complex networks, and has studied online social networks for many years. He is a chair of social networks and graph analysis track in WWW 2016. He is a lead author of “What is Twitter, a social network or news media?” (WWW 2010), which has been cited more than 4,400 times. Along with his Twitter paper, he is always exploring new areas, such as his work on YouTube and other online social networks. At QCRI, Haewoon focuses on computational journalism, with special emphasis on bias of news media. His recent work are presented in Computational Journalism Symposium 2014-2016.

Program Committee

Jisun An Qatar Computing Research Institute
Ilaria Bordino Unicredit R&D
Meeyoung Cha KAIST & Facebook
Giovanni Luca Ciampaglia Indiana University
David Corney Signal Media
Michele Coscia Center for International Development – Harvard University
Suman Deb Roy Betaworks
Nicholas Diakopoulos University of Maryland
Kiran Garimella Aalto University
Claudia Hauff Delft University of Technology
Andreas Kaltenbrunner Eurecat
Jaap Kamps University of Amsterdam
Nattiya Kanhabua Aalborg University
Mounia Lalmas Yahoo
Claudio Lucchese Institute of Information Science and Technologies – CNR
Michael Mathioudakis Helsinki Institute for Information Technology
Yelena Mejova Qatar Computing Research Institute
Stuart E. Middleton University of Southampton
Lyndon Nixon MODUL Technology GmbH
Denis Parra Catholic University of Chile
Luiz Pizzato Commonwealth Bank of Australia
Georgios Rizos Centre for Research and Technology Hellas
Giancarlo Ruffo University of Turin
Rossano Schifanella University of Turin
Fabrizio Silvestri Facebook
Thomas Steiner Google
Christoph Trattner KMI, TU-Graz
Adam Tsakalidis University of Warwick
Ingmar Weber Qatar Computing Research Institute
Markos Zampoglou Centre for Research and Technology Hellas
Arkaitz Zubiaga University of Warwick